S240 Oil Change

GMJim

Threads
I bought my S240 about mid summer this year and only have 6.8 hours on it. Winter showed up early this year and it's been sitting for about a month because I've been busy with other things. As an auto mechanic I don't like leaving used oil in an engine over winter storage and plan to change it but was wondering about changing out the break in oil before the (Kawasaki) recommended 8 hours. First off I can't confirm whether or not It's actually break in oil. Because I haven't had time to research the best oil to use in this thing I bought a filter and 10W-30 Turf guard oil from a JD dealer. It's supposed to be regular dino oil and not synthetic. I'll probably switch to synthetic next oil change. So I guess my question is am I dumping break in oil (if in fact it is break in oil) too soon or should I just do it?
Thanks
Jim

ILENGINE

Lawn Pro
Threads
You would be fine changing the oil at 6.8 hours. And I have never seen a lawnmower or small engine company use break in oil in any engine.

Scrubcadet10

Staff member
Threads
Change it. Won't hurt a thing in the universe.

GMJim

Threads
You would be fine changing the oil at 6.8 hours. And I have never seen a lawnmower or small engine company use break in oil in any engine.

Thanks for the reply. I asked the dealer parts guy about the oil and he did say it was break in oil but the service department couldn't confirm it. Another thing I was reading in the manual was about the grease used. I use a black Moly grease for just about everything and the manual warns about mixing grease and naturally recommends their own. Should I use the overly expensive JD grease or will the high quality Molyslip I have be an issue? I'm an engine guy but not small engines so this info is very helpful. Thanks!

cpurvis

Lawn Addict
Threads
Take a look at my picture and you'll see the effects of leaving oil in an engine all winter (every winter) and using inferior dino oil.

AVB

Threads