Off-season storage/maintanice

mattdmarie

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hi,
I'm new to the forum, and didn't see a topic for this. I'm not a complete newbiew to lawnare, but definately with large ztr machinary and what the best way to keep it in storage (prior to my scag I had a 6hp craftsman 22" lol). Here are a few questions swimming in my mind (feel free to point me to any other areas where these might be covered). Thanks!

(in retrospect, a lot of questions, but your input is GREATLY appreciated)

During any time of storage period (Winter, etc):
Do you continue to start it each week, month, etc (certain desired interval)?
What if gas is left in the tanks (mine is a wildcat, so i've tried to keep reseve empty)? I've been using ethanol free, so i'm not sure if you need to put in some stabilizer in the gas during the winter?
Assuming you leave gas in, do you turn off the gas lines and let the engine "run out of gas" to empty fuel lines?
Do you grease all fittings prior to storage or do you wait until next season? Same for oil and fuel filter changes?
I've been trying recently to get under the deck and getting off all dead grass. Assume, good to leave it stored fully clean (seems like a no brainer, but worth asking)
What type of cleaning do you do prior to storage? (Washing deck, waxing, etc)

Steve0853

Threads
Congratulations on buying a Scag. You have a fine mower.

My son and I cut a few yards on the side and we have a Turf Tiger with 61 inch deck and and V Ride with a 52 inch deck and an older Grasshopper 61 inch.

For the TT and the Grasshopper, I don't worry about the gas in the tank. I use both of them to pull trailers for leaf raking and limb trimming, so I run them often enough in the winter not to have to worry about stale gas.