new steering gear getting chewed up

Freddie21

Threads
Hey Biggs, JD along with others, don't manufacture their own parts. They have suppliers for that.

One unit I had, I just shimmed between the shoulder bolt and the sector gear to get a nice spacing. Use thinner washers so it can be put to where you like it. Also, it there a guide bushing 1\2 or higher up the steering shaft that may be worn too?

the.doc

Threads
And from memory there are 2 of them
After that there is the problem of the steering pins in the front cross member , have they been greased ?
And of course the bushes in the wheels themselves
Wear in any or all of them puts excessive load on the fan gear
Replacing the fan gear & bushes is one of those 5 hands jobs
Finally did you lubricate the fan gear & pinion ?
Mine always get a good shot of dry Lithium Chassis grease ( CRC Product )
What I see is paint transfer from the fan gear to the pinion
Newbie here.
Thought that it might be a good idea to get some of that so I did a search for "CRC dry Lithium Chassis grease" and got no hits. Could you post maybe an item number or maybe a picture of the container? got lots of hits for lithium grease bur "dry" and "chassis" were a problem.

thanks

bigjake

Threads
They are most likely full of grease.(which is a good thing)
They will turn free after they have ran for awhile.
1/8 inch in the flat pulley will still be ok.

I quite often buy a bearing or bearing/pulley now days and it free wheel spins easy when new. That is a sign that China did not pack the bearing with grease.
I use a vaccinating needle on my grease gun and pack them kind if I cannot pop the seal out.

Install the pulleys and test.
I installed the new idler pulleys and the tractor now runs fine (so far) with no belt slippage. I cut the back hill and went up the steep side about 20 times with no hesitation at all. It did get stuck once going over an exposed tree root but the rear tire spun as it should, instead of the belt slipping.