Hertz car rental is dropping 20,000 EV cars for gas powered.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lawn Addict
Threads
  • / Hertz car rental is dropping 20,000 EV cars for gas powered.
Think we may see more of this. Said repairs & resale is a killer.

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
The big problem is batteries which is the reason there were only a couple of companies who did EV's from WW II the reincarnation of PT Barnum formed Tesla.
All they are good for is virtue signaling and just like E-mowers, there is a convenience factor to them for certain people in certain circumstances but basically they are a joke that makes pollution far worse than sticking with ICE
OTOH the trend or monster engines needs to be curtailed you really do not need a 10 litre engine to drop the kids off to daycare
I have been driving an 1800cc & a 2400cc van for 40 years and it is quite happy at the legal speed limit
Outside of the USA where Musk offers insurance on Teslas in most states, EV's are now uninsurable
The Luton carpark fire cost is now up to £ 120,000,000 and still climbing so EV's are pulling £ 4,000 to £ 6,000 for annual insurance
Now apart from the Rolls Royce hire cars, I have never paid the equivalent of £ 4,000 for a vehicle , let alone insurance .
EV sales have tanked and every manufacturere is pulling back on production and according to one YT channel some models have better than 2 years worth of sales sitting in cary yards because the dealers can not shift them .

ILENGINE

Lawn Royalty
Threads
OTOH the trend or monster engines needs to be curtailed you really do not need a 10 litre engine to drop the kids off to daycare
I have been driving an 1800cc & a 2400cc van for 40 years and it is quite happy at the legal speed limit