Buying Advice Buy new Honda or repair Master Series with Aluminum Deck

Rouillier

Threads
  • / Buy new Honda or repair Master Series with Aluminum Deck
I have a 12+ year old Honda Master Series Lawn mower that I am having a hard time starting. I have changed the spark plug and oil and have kept the air filter clean. I have run the gas out of the lines every time I finish cutting my lawn. I am wondering is I should bring it to a professional repair shop or just buy a new one.

I used my neighbor's new Honda today and it seemed to cut my grass better. I think his has the double mulching blade which I am sure that mine does not have.

It is a hard decision. This Master Series Honda has been a great mower and is like an old friend! The Aluminum deck looks perfect. The handles have a little rust but everything has worked fine. It has just become harder and harder to start until today when I could not get it to start.

So repair or buy new?

KennyV

Lawn Pro
Threads
WELCOME to LMF...
I am a repair something you like, type of guy...
But then I do my own repairs & I do enjoy repairing things and I especially like repairing My own things...
If you fit in the throw away and buy new.... that's your answer... If you really like your old mower, Then repair it and try for another 12 years from it... :smile:KennyV

Threads
WELCOME TO LMF!
Unlike KennyV, I am a "buy-a-shiny-new-one" kind of guy! :laughing::laughing:
But seriously, if you like the mower a lot I would take it in to be fixed, but if you really liked the cut of the new Honda, I would buy that. The new Honda (specifically the HRX217HYA) has a lot of awesome features...including:
  • NeXite deck---this deck is very nice. It will not rust, and with the grass I have, I don't need to clean the underside of it!
  • GCV190 engine---this engine is super powerful (the other classes of Honda mowers only have the 160 cc engine!).