Export thread

Won't Run on New Gas - Will Run on Carb Cleaner

L

LarryJohnson

Can't figure out why mower won't run on gas, but will run on steady stream of carb cleaner. I've been using the old mower for 5 years with no issues. After a number of uses this year, it just stalled out. I assumed the gas was bad, so I emptied the tank, lines, and carb bowl. The only way it will run is with a steady stream of carb cleaner. I visually confirmed the fuel pump is pumping. Don't know what to do next..

Finally got it fixed. Thanks for everyone's help.

Scrubcadet10

Scrubcadet10

i'd clean the carburetor.

L

LarryJohnson

i'd clean the carburetor.

Thanks for the reply. I sprayed 2 cans of carb cleaner through it trying to get the mower running on gas. Then I removed it, drained the bowl, wiped out a small bit of sediment and replaced. Is that not sufficient?

Scrubcadet10

Scrubcadet10

no.
jets and passage ways need cleaned.

R

Rivets

Plus float level needs to be adjusted.

S

slomo

So this is how some folks clean carbs. Spray a little eye fire juice and call it a day.

Wondering on posts like the OP changed everything on the mower and it still won't run. Cleaned carb and new carb. Guess we need to ask more direct questions? As in how was the carb cleaned?

slomo

S

slomo

Can't figure out why mower won't run on gas, but will run on steady stream of carb cleaner. I've been using the old mower for 5 years with no issues. After a number of uses this year, it just stalled out. I assumed the gas was bad, so I emptied the tank, lines, and carb bowl. The only way it will run is with a steady stream of carb cleaner. I visually confirmed the fuel pump is pumping. Don't know what to do next..
Hi Larry,

You need air, fuel, spark and compression to run a mower engine.

Your fuel system "could be" the fuel tank, fuel lines, fuel filters, fuel shut off valve, carb solenoid and finally the carburetor.