What do you grow your garden in?

ReggieDeere

Threads
There are many ways to grow a garden. You have hydroponics, strawbale gardening, regular old plant it in the dirt gardening, and much more. What method do you use to grow your garden?

mystreba

Threads
Last year I started a 10x20 bed. I went overboard with the variety, but made out pretty well with cukes, tomatoes and herbs. I started with regular yard soil (mostly clay) and tilled-in mulched oak leaves, lime and peat. Overall, it was not a success. I planted right into the ground, but the plants were not doing well, so I switched tactics - I dug up all the plants and re-planted them by digging a much bigger hole and filling with composted topsoil. The plants seemed to do better, but I think my problem was that I used landscaping fabric. My thinking is that it "baked" the roots systems, but I'm no expert. I didn't replant this year because of MAJOR excavation in my yard (new septic), but next year I plan to rip out all the landscape fabric and plant in similar fashion - dig a large hole and fill with composted topsoil.

monica123

Threads
We plant right in the ground. We have composted horse and sheep manure we have been working through the soil. This is year three and I think we will get a decent yield again this year.

BlueGrass

Threads
We planted in top soil and then fertilized it. It seems to be doing ok for now but I'm not very optimistic. I guess you would call me a beginner at gardening.

Rip

Threads
This year we went with container gardening and have had great luck. We had access to modular shipping containers that broke down into modules that were approx. 4' square x 8" deep. These modules were made to stack and interlock if we needed a little more depth for something like potatoes.