Walnuts

Burris33

Threads
I am relatively new to the mowing business, and I haven't done much mowing for people in the fall until this year. There are several yards I'm doing that are covered in walnuts. The owners don't seem to care much about them. Is it okay to just mow over them or is it worth the time to pick them up? And if I do mow them, can that damage the blades quickly?

exotion

Lawn Addict
Threads
They can dull your blade fast. It really is worth the time, I tell my customers its an extra fee usually $5 a tree to rake them up if they don't want to pay I don't mow I spend enough time a week sharpening my blades

reynoldston

Lawn Pro
Threads
I have walnuts in my yard along with apples. I just mow right over the tops of all them. I really don't see where the walnuts hit the mower blades, but the apples do. When I mow over the apples it smells like apple sauce. The deer will eat the apples and the squirrels take the walnuts away. Then by spring everything is gone.

Carscw

Lawn Pro
Threads
I just mow them. If you are cutting so low that you hit a lot of them then you are cutting to low anyways.

I find they don't hurt the blades to much

Apples just make a mess but I like the smell of them.

exotion

Lawn Addict
Threads
I just mow them. If you are cutting so low that you hit a lot of them then you are cutting to low anyways.

I find they don't hurt the blades to much

Apples just make a mess but I like the smell of them.

Guess that's true I'm thinking in the fall I usually cut real low anyway and don't like hitting all those walnuts. And I have seen my blades beat to hell after one tree.

I love mowing apples makes everything smell good and my machine usually cuts an Apple into about 5 pieces and they are usually gone in a couple days

Mike88se

Threads