Toro SS5000, brakes not holding mower still

JoeKarpowski

Forum Newbie
Threads
Yes in this case they are calling the racks, brake arms and the pinions, cogs.

Also Toro is selling them as well as Hydro Gear but HG will be lower in cost normally as you take out one of the middle men; hence, the given part numbers.

And the pinion (cog) is steel. The rack (brake arm) are what appear to be cast aluminum. They maybe zinc but appear to more of a cast aluminum to me.
Good information, thank you!

hlw49

Lawn Addict
Threads
I have been pulling trailers for over 40 years and know the ins and outs of securing cargo and towing safely. I never said I don't strap the mower down, just what happens if I don't, and then move the trailer. While the comments on that topic are insightful, that's not what I asked about. If you can't contribute to the information I asked about, kindly move on to the next post you might have something insightful to comment on that might actually have to do with what the poster is asking about. Thanks....
I think I did contribute to the information you ask about and what could happen if you didn't. "The brakes won't hold a mower on a trailer due to bouncing of the trailer. Best to strap it down. If you are involved in an accident and the mower comes off the trailler and causes damage it is your fault no matter who caused the accident. Strap it down and be safe."

Tiger Small Engine

Threads
I think I did contribute to the information you ask about and what could happen if you didn't. "The brakes won't hold a mower on a trailer due to bouncing of the trailer. Best to strap it down. If you are involved in an accident and the mower comes off the trailler and causes damage it is your fault no matter who caused the accident. Strap it down and be safe."
Hlw49- You and I both contributed. In fact, there are a select few members who try and actually do help people with questions and concerns, on an ongoing and consistent basis.

JoeKarpowski

Forum Newbie