Queston about honing a cylinder

Phototone

Threads
I have been told that when I replace the rings on a Lawnboy, I should hone the cylinder to help the rings seat. Can somebody give this self-taught Lawnboy mechanic some instruction on how to do this? What type of hone to use, what type of lubricant to use when honing?

lewb

Threads
I have never replaced a piston or rings in a cylinder. I will be replacing two pistons this fall so I have done some research. I have found that the two or 3 stone expanding hone works better than the round ball type. There are many different sized hones and that you need one that will fit the bore you are working on. The speed of the hone spinning is another issue. Have not gotten much on the ideal rpm only that you do not want to spin too fast. Number of passes is also a concern, less is better. What kind of oil or lubricant is another I do not have any kind of information on. Probably not much help hopefully someone that rebuilds motors will reply.

BlazNT

Lawn Pro
Threads
I have been told that when I replace the rings on a Lawnboy, I should hone the cylinder to help the rings seat. Can somebody give this self-taught Lawnboy mechanic some instruction on how to do this? What type of hone to use, what type of lubricant to use when honing?
Lots of YouTube videos on that subject. You really need to watch it to understand it.

jp1961

Threads
Hello,