Operation double decker

ybelikeu

Forum Newbie
Threads
Has anyone here ever successfully tethered two riding mowers together? I am thinking of a setup like a tow hitch used to pull a car behind a camper - just modded so the lead mower is offset to one side to cut eighty plus inches of grass per pass. I already know that the slave mower needs to be the weaker mower of the pair and the safety system of the slave will have to be circumvented so that the blades will work with no one in the seat. Any input would be appreciated as I am a newbie to the site.

mullins87

Threads
You'll need to do three things to make it work well and not put too much strain on the towing mower. First off is steering. Your "slave" mower may not want to track very well behind the towing mower, i.e. it may not want to turn when you do. I've never had to pull my JD around, but none of my other mowers would follow the tow vehicle without skidding the front tires or having someone on the towed mower to steer. Therefore you may need your tow bar to pivot at the towed mower's front axle with a drag link attached to one of the steering knuckles so the front tires will turn when you turn. Otherwise you'll need to fab up some mounts and install some large casters like what's on the front of a ZTR.

Second, you'll probably need to remove the rear axle or at least remove the internals to make the mower roll as freely as possible. If it has a manual transmission, you may only have to put it in neutral. However, if it has a hydro tranny, then you'll have to remove it. You'll need to measure the existing axle diameter. For the sake of this post, assume the axle has a 3/4" diameter. You can replace the rear axle with a piece of 3/4" rod, two 3/4" pillow blocks, four washers and two cotter pins.

Third, you'll need to remove as much dead weight from the towed mower as possible to make it easier to pull. If you have any incline at all, you'll be amazed how much of a difference 50 pounds can make.