Older Mower, new member

Al-

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hello everyone!
I have a 21" , around 1979 version. I bought it at a lawn sale perhaps 20 yrs ago. I 've always ran it with a 16:1 mix however it smokes a bit. I was reading in an old manuals that if used OMC oil I could use a 32:1 mix , but otherwise use !6:1. I now buy
modern oil that can be used at a 50:1 mix so I'm wondering if the 16:1 mix using the modern oil might be too rich and the reason for the smoking. Thanks for any advise

steve c

Threads
Welcome to the forum.I'm no expert (there are several members here who are), but I have been running Lawn-Boys for about 35 years and have always used 32:1 with several 2 cycle oils with no problems. I'd start with that mix and see if that helps. From what I've read here, there are other possible causes for the smoke, including carb issues (easy fix). Let us know if the mixture change helps. I'd like to try 50:1 mix myself, but mine only smoke a little, if at all, at 32:1.

DaveTN

Threads
Hi Al and Welcome to the LMF! I've got an old Craftsman chainsaw that uses something like 25:1
and others of later vintage like 32:1... and one Husq chainsaw something around 50:1 I don't know
why these old engines were 16:1, which my dad and uncles used as well as great uncles. I wouldn't
be mixing 50:1 in place of 25:1 just right away because it may cause cylinder / piston wear. As I recall
those old machines smoked like a tar kettle. I have often wondered about the varous mixtures as well. :thumbsup:

Al-

Forum Newbie
Threads
Thanks for the welcome and input Steve and Dave. My mower well is overdue for some ordinary maintenance , but it just keeps going. I bought a new NGK spark plug and will try the 32:1 mix. The last gas I bought was ethanol free so maybe that makes it smoke more . I only need to mow my lawn a couple of more times this season and I'm working on my snowblowers now but maybe later or this winter I'll work on my lawnboy.

bwright1818

Threads