Kohler 23 HP engine runs rough

Aussie Ron

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hi all, I'm new to this and I hope someone out there can offer some practical advice. My Toro Timecutter Z5020 has suddenly developed a problem, it is difficult to start, I have to use the choke and to keep it running the choke can't be pushed in, as soon as I push it in the engine dies but even before that it just keeps on surging like I'm pushing the throttle on and off. I'm at a loss as to what it might be, I've cleaned the plugs and changed the fuel, cleaned the air filter and changed the fuel filter, I am totally lost as to what might be the problem. Yesterday when I began mowing the lawn it was fine for an hour and then it started this surging and stopped, I did the above things and it started and ran for a while before doing the same thing over and over. Today it won't keep going at all, it just begins surging and cuts out. Please help me, thanks in advance, Ron.

Fish

Lawn Pro
Threads
You need to dis-assemble the whole fuel system and clean it out.. Get rid of all of that pesky dirty water, and let it totally dry, as well as the carb.

Aussie Ron

Forum Newbie
Threads
You need to dis-assemble the whole fuel system and clean it out.. Get rid of all of that pesky dirty water, and let it totally dry, as well as the carb.

Thank you very much for your advice I'll get onto it straight away, much obliged, Ron.

Aussie Ron

Forum Newbie
Threads