JD JA62 carburetor assembly questions

werminghausen

Threads
I am a newbie and have never seen a JA62 before but inherited one this winter.
...wanted to ask if someone can help me get this old JA62 going? I have no manual and I didn't take pictures (which tell more than words)
It stared today buy died after. It started only with the lever at the push bars pushed down.
What does this lever do to the engine?

Carburetor assembly: I am not sure if the existing 2 wire rods are correctly installed in my mower (at the carburetor).
There is Rod1 (wire) at the carburetor coming from in front of the cylinder (which is moving when I push/pull the inner of the 2 levers at the push bar).
And there is Rod2 (another wire) that comes from the back of the engine and ties into the small lever that moves the throttle.
Rod2 has a soft spring to the Rod1 bracket.... so the 2 are connected but I don't know if this is correct.

Clearly if I push/pull the gas lever (left side of push bar) the throttle doesn't move.
Where is Rod2 coming from and what is moving Rod2?

If someone can send me a picture and/or explain how this assembly works ....would be great.

Best, Martin

werminghausen

Threads
This is a diagram of the push bar with
A - Blade/Engine Control Lever.
B - Gear Shift Lever (JA62).
C - Throttle Lever (JA62)

just for clarifying the functions: I think I have to hold A and E ?? to the bar in order to start?
And if released it will stop the engine?

So for the carburetor: I'll take a few pictures later today but I think the assembly is not correct as C (throttle lever) should control the throttle directly with the push/pull rod?

if anyone had a picture of the correct assembly I'd be grateful.

Best, Martin

Attachments

• gc00514i023.jpg
    gc00514i023.jpg
    12.2 KB · Views: 15
  • Image.gif
    Image.gif
    10.1 KB · Views: 19
  • Image2.gif
    Image2.gif
    8 KB · Views: 17

werminghausen

Threads