Export thread

HRX217HYA with grinding noise

J

Joeyg023

I just bought the Honda HRX217HYA I went to use it today and I noticed with the blade off the self propelled feature has a slight grinding noise. It still does it with the blade on, but you don't notice it as much. I used to have a older model with the smart drive and it never made this kind of noise.

J

Joeyg023

Does anyone with this mower know if this is normal for this model. Sounds like its coming from the transmission area.

lawn mower fanatic

lawn mower fanatic

Does anyone with this mower know if this is normal for this model. Sounds like its coming from the transmission area.

I know that when I first got my HRX there was a different sound than I was used to when the drive was on, but that was just because the NeXite deck sounds different than a steel one. But I don't think there should be a grinding noise.

reynoldston

reynoldston

I find a grinding noise means bad bearings. As a mechanic I pick up on that type of noise hear it.

lzn197

lzn197

I've heard the noise and that deck seems to amplify it. If the machine passes the "spin the tire on pavement" test and you know all of your cables are adjusted properly, I would leave it alone. But if you want to pursue tearing out that transmission, you are in for QUITE a job.

First thing I look at is rear tire wear or does it have brand new tires (new tires meaning the previous owner changed them because they were bald). Drive tire wear is your "poor mans" hour meter.

Also, Those machines tend to get old grass and string wound around the axles and that causes some slight binding. I fixed one last summer that had about 12 feet of thread wrapped around the shaft.

J

Joeyg023

Thanks guys ill keep a eye on it and see what happens. The mower is brand new out of the box so nothing should be wore out. It's definitely just a noise I'm not used to hearing. I'll wait and see if it goes away or gets worse.

exotion

exotion