Help before I go insane! Drive belt replacement

mhieronimus

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hello,

I'm new to the world of riding mowers so I may not get all the parts names/terms right. I picked up a used one, mistake number 1 (wish I had the money to buy new) but it needed a little TLC nothing I couldn't handle though. After replacing the mower deck belt and solenoid it was running and mowing like a champ. We live in the country and have some fairly large and deep ditches. It mowed through them no problem and pulled itself and my fat arse (I'm 6'4" 250lbs) out of the ditches without any hesitation.

Now the other day I was out mowing and on a perfectly flat spot it started chugging and jerking (motor was running fine and blades were spinning fine) then it crept to a stand still while still in gear. I wasn't able to trouble shoot right away but was finally able to take a look at it today.

The clutch idler pulley (I think that's what it is called) was pretty well beat up. I figured that was the problem because the belt looked ok. I ran to the local hardware store and picked up a new pulley, dropped it in and... same thing.

I was actually able to get off of the mower (while having my wife assist me holding the seat down) and the mower still wouldn't go. I looked under the mower and the large pulley on the top of the differential/transaxle the drive belt was slipping right around it! Got the mower in the garage and was going to go ahead and swap the belt... but to my surprise I can't get the dang belt off.

If someone could help me out with finding the model number then I could atleast post the model number. The belt is running around the steering linkage and is kind of interwoven between components in the back above the differential/transaxle... am I better off taking it to a repair shop? I'm fairly mechanically inclined but am not a master by any means.... I just never figured that you would have to disassemble the whole dang tractor to replace a belt... Please HELP!!!