Geez, This Is New. Has Me Baffled.

LawnCzar

Forum Newbie
Threads
I`ve own a 2000 series Cub Cadet since new for over 20 years. One, maybe two problems in that time, but this has me baffled? Mowing the lawn, mower just shut down. I checked for spark first and there was none. Bad plug? Changed it out for a new one after gapping the speced .040. Had spark and she fired right back up and continued to cut grass. Then after 10 - 15 minutes, mower deck belt blew off and seen the spring had come off (can`t remember but the motor may have shut down?). Never happened before, so put everything back and mower would not start again. Checked for spark and there was none. Blew a brand new spark plug? Never heard of such a thing but I`m a carpenter by trade. Can something be doing this?
I should mention, I recently put a Cub Cadet OEM mulching blade assembly I used just once prior for about 1 hour. When I first used it, I noticed the extra strain on the machine with the extra blade on each spindle. Wondering if this is having an adverse effect on the motor system? Geez, This Is New. Has Me Baffled.

Bertrrr

Threads
Spark plugs rarely go out , a fouled plug will look like new sort of shiny , a firing plug will be a bit gray and dry
older plugs my look a little black but if they're firing the electrode will be dry and gray looking ,
Pull the plug hook the wire up and ground the threaded area while spinning it over, it will turn freely and you'll see the spark there - if no spark you'll need to work back from there and look at the wire , coil etc.
I usually stick a screw driver into the plug wire if there is no spark at the plug , grab with my hand while touching ground somewhere and spin it over------- it should and will shock the fire out of your hand but that is a sure fire way to know the magneto and coil is working as designed.
Hope this gets you moving in the right direction

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Extra blade on each spindle ? two per spindle ?