Engine Frost Plug Block Heater

TOMG

Forum Newbie
Threads
I have been trying to install a new frost plug block heater in my G1900 diesel. When it gets cold enough to put the snow blower on this cold natured beaste will not start without warming it up first! After I got the old heater out and tried to put the new one in, I found that the new heater interfers with the front cylinder. After looking at the old heater again, it looks like the old one was modified by bending the element to the side and flattening the inside with a hammer! All these years I have been under the impression that these type heaters could not be treated this way with out destroying them, however this heater lasted almost 18 years. Does anyone have any information about modifying these heaters with a hammer?

noma

Threads
morning Tomg

I'm not a expert, but i would think you would be alright as long as you don' t smash the tube so the you didn't put a crack in the tube so it leaks i think there is liquid in there not sure what's in there. :licking:

bakerg

Lawn Addict
Threads
Your filament wire runs through the tube with insulation around it. If the insulation used is ceramic, when you hit with a hammer you would damage the insulation and could cause a short to the filament. If you are gentle enough you can sometimes bend the heater a little but I would not recomend using a hammer. Maybe a vise but there is no garuantee it will work. It may work or it may short out. Good luck in what ever you do.:biggrin:

KennyV

Lawn Pro
Threads
The wire inside Most heating elements are blanketed with silicone, so they are okay to bend a bit... Rigid ceramic heaters should not be bent, like bakerg said....
But if it is silicone & you mash them too much the resulting pinch could shorts it out.
You might check the other core plugs for better fitting... or go with a tank type heater.

Are your glow plugs working? I have never needed a block heater with kubota diesel engines..:smile:KennyV

TOMG

Forum Newbie