2016 X310 won't start

TomfromMaine

Forum Newbie
Threads
I am a former ASE-certified auto mechanic. I know my way around engines, but this one has me stumped. The lawnmower stopped while mowing the lawn.

This is what I have done or checked:

I have gas, fuel pump works, carburetor solenoid works, air filter, and gas filters are clean, installed a new battery, a new EUC, both sparkplugs fire and shorting the seat safety device didn't work. The plugs are dry, but the machine will start with starting fluid. Disconnecting the black kill wire didn't work. All fuses work.

In the past, I have jump-started the lawnmower and recently discovered that will blow the ECU, so I replaced it. Is there anything else jump-starting the lawnmower will kill?

What can I do or check next?

Tom

slomo

Lawn Addict
Threads
The plugs are dry, but the machine will start with starting fluid.
One clue there. She is thirsty. Carb cleaning and or fuel system cleaning time.

Dump and flush out the fuel tank/s. You want them spotless inside. Blow out with compressed air. Install ALL new fuel lines.

How do you know the carb solenoid works? Do you have a clear float bowl on it? Get a small bolt the same thread pitch as the solenoid. Use it for testing to 100% rule out the solenoid.

Pull the kill wire/s off the ignition coils. Should run till you drain the tanks out. That is unless you have other issues.

You need good fuel flow AT the carb inlet. Drain into a glass jar so you can watch it. Or a mower can and empty the tank dry. Should drain out freely. Or if it stops you need to clean the tank out.

Don't buy a new carb off amazon or epray.

Start with the basics. Compression, air and fuel then spark. Easy right?

TomfromMaine

Forum Newbie
Threads
Thanks. I did that when checking the coils. All looked good.

TomfromMaine

Forum Newbie
Threads