2010 ltx 1040 no start

MAguln8839

Threads
No start on Ltx1040. Engine cranks, headlights are on, but will not start. As far as I can tell there is no spark. I am not an engine expert, but I suspect the ignition module is bad and have ordered a new one. Anyone else have any ideas? I think I am on the right track. Thanks in advance.

reynoldston

Lawn Pro
Threads
Most businesses when you buy a electrical part you own it and can't take it back, so make sure the old one is bad before paying for a new one. The very first thing when testing for spark always isolate the engine and chassis so you know where to look.

mechanic mark

Lawn Pro
Threads
First check 20 amp fuse for being blown, between ignition switch & starter located in wire harness. If you replace fuse & it blows again you have an electrical problem. Google: Cub Cadet Professional Shop Manuals, scroll down to Ltx tractors, click, & click on electrical troubleshooting, step by step information, possible safety switch issue. You can purchase fuses at any auto parts store.

MAguln8839

Threads
First check 20 amp fuse for being blown, between ignition switch & starter located in wire harness. If you replace fuse & it blows again you have an electrical problem. Google: Cub Cadet Professional Shop Manuals, scroll down to Ltx tractors, click, & click on electrical troubleshooting, step by step information, possible safety switch issue. You can purchase fuses at any auto parts store.

If the fuse was blown, wouldn't you expect the starter not to turn? In my case the starter turns and the engine cranks, but the engine wont run. Unless the fuse is after the starter?

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
If you have owed this mower from new go to the opertors mnual.
Everything it tells you to do before you start it will have a micro switch atached to it.
One of ore of these is not working , has been unpluged or has a broken wire.
You check by isolating the ignition module from the rest of the mower.