22hp into a 13.5 hp mower

dach

Forum Newbie
Threads
Aloha,

I have an older John Deere with a 22HP B & S motor. The only usable part is the motor. I also have a newer Yard Machines with a 13.5 HP B & S motor that dropped a valve. That machine is in great shape.

Has anyone swapped in a much larger motor before, and if so, how difficult is it.

Yes I am new to this thread and I have not searched for other posts, please point me in the right direction.

Thank you.

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
You can do it.
Just remember it will not go any faster or work much better because you have put an engine in which is twice he size of the original.
Shaft size should be the same but best to check by trying to swap one to the other.
Control cables will be different lengths but again usually they can be swapped.
The 13Hp would have been choke a matic and the 20 might run a seperate choke cable which should be swappable.
IF your hood is the one with the two tie rod to the front you just might like to check the new engine will sit between them.

All winter I do very little apart from swap engines fro dead tractors to better ones and am yet to come across one that can not be done.
Measure the disance from the deck to the pulleys and the MTD and when the new motor is in place check the heights again as occasionally I have to slip some packing under a motor that sits too low.

reynoldston

Lawn Pro
Threads
Anything can be done. It all depends on you skills and the equipment and tools you have to work with.

dach

Forum Newbie
Threads
RE-bertsmobile1;227976

Thank you.