Looking for some suggestions on zero turn mowers

burhead

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hi all, new to the forum and looking for some suggestions on various mowers. I have a 2 acre lawn that is bumpy is some areas and has some pretty good slopes at both ends. I also have lots of trees to mow around. I currently have a 20 year old dixon 542. I have been mowing with it for 10 years and it has served me well. It is starting to near the end of it's life and it is time to find a suitable replacement. I started out looking at a ferris 700 series but was turned off by the local dealer and the price. The 700 is priced at the top of my budget, around 6300. The biggest benefit I see in the ferris is the suspension, my yard is a bit rough. It also had a B&S engine which makes me a bit nervous. I then discovered the country clipper line, the 52" edge xlt. It is priced at around 5300 and has some features that I really like. The joystick control interests me the most. I would love to have a free hand to move low hanging tree limbs as I mow under them. I have read both positive and negative opinions on the joystick. My biggest fear is that I won't be happy with how the mower handles hills and tricky areas. I also like the flip up deck. The unit seems to be very well made and the dealer is great. The same dealer also sells hustler. He pointed me to the Raptor SD 60". This mower is priced at around 4500. This mower seemed well built but is really a no frills unit in my eyes. The biggest benefit that I can see is price and a larger deck than the other two. I realize that any thing I get will be better that my antique dixon but this is a big purchase and I want to be happy. I would appreciate any opinions on these three mowers and welcome any suggestions of other mowers I should consider.

jaredfink

Threads