Toro SS 5000 strange sound

Turbo4x4

Forum Newbie
Threads
I recently purchased a new Toro SS 5000. It is a wonderful machine, but makes a strange sound, like a large watch mainspring suddenly rapidly unwinding, approximately 5 to 7 seconds after parking and shutting down. This is my first ZTR mower, so this may be normal. Any ideas? Thanks!

nick9

Forum Newbie
Threads
Could it be the brake engaging? Mine makes a similar sound just after the drive handles are put into the park/brake position.
Edit: mine is a MX5060 but I figured they are very similar.

Turbo4x4

Forum Newbie
Threads
Could it be the brake engaging? Mine makes a similar sound just after the drive handles are put into the park/brake position.
Edit: mine is a MX5060 but I figured they are very similar.
Nick,
Thanks for the reply. Though I'm not that familiar with the mechanics of the independent hydro drives, my background is in mechanical systems, so this sounded like the most likely cause. Following the last outing with the mower, I raised the rear end of it and looked at both drives, discovering that one was not fully engaged with the teeth of the detent. I rocked the mower slightly until it engaged, and it did not make this sound the next time out. Keeping my fingers crossed. Thanks again for your input.

Brucebotti

Threads
My Toro MX5060 makes the exact same sound. It is the solenoid for the electric brake. You can make it duplicate the sound by turning the ignition on (without starting) and moving the drive handles in and out.
Bruce

Turbo4x4

Forum Newbie
Threads
My Toro MX5060 makes the exact same sound. It is the solenoid for the electric brake. You can make it duplicate the sound by turning the ignition on (without starting) and moving the drive handles in and out.
Bruce

Bruce,