Tecumseh TVS105-53122G stalling/carb hookup

soulvoid86

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hello all,

New member here, and I'm not 100% sure if this thread should be posted here, so please feel free to move it if it's not correct. First time owning my own mower as well, hahah, but I'm a experienced backyard mechanic, and work on my own cars all the time. So I have a good mechanical knowledge/background, but I've never worked with a mower directly before.

So long story short, I bought a Snapper push mower (Don't have the exact model number on hand, at work right now.) for $20 out of our local news paper, knowing it was not running correctly, from an older lady who's husband passed away. She though it was an issue with the wiring. Got it home, and found out it had the self-propel feature, but was removed because it was broken. There were a few extra wires just hanging, so I snipped those off.

When I first got it, it ran Ok but ran at pretty low speed, even with the throttle handle cranked all the way up. It would then stall out slowly, as if it were out of gas. So first thing I did was pull apart the carb, cleaned it out good with carb cleaner and some compressed air. Changed the oil and spark plug, and also inspected the coil and wire (All's good there). Emptied out the fuel tank, cleaned it, and put a new fuel line on it (without a shutoff, until I get it running right). Started up great on the first pull, and ran for about 10 mins, then slowly died off again.

Next day, I pulled the carb apart again, cleaned it, and got it all back together. Ran great for about 15 minutes, then started doing the same thing. Then it would not start back up. It would fire 1 or 2 cycles, then stall out or not even fire at all.