Stay away from John Deere

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Back in '03 I bought a L100 (basically the same thing, but with a manual transmission) $1,500 out the door with MA sales tax, which was 5% at the time. I sold it to a friend who abused the hell out of it - left it outside, uncovered, never maintained it, etc.., and it ran for YEARS afterwards. Only thing I had to repair on it during the time he had it, was all the safety switches that failed.

Quality across the board has taken a nosedive, whether it's a GM product, a washing machine, or a low-end lawn tractor. As a mechanic, I see it all. The state of manufacturing today disgusts me. Just look at what you could buy in the 1980's for a reasonable, working man's price. Alot of that stuff is STILL out there, doing what it was designed to do, 35+ years later!
But the problem is what we buy today is the same price as what we bought back in 1980 when the wages were 1/2 what they are now
Dads first petrol mower cost a months wages , now days you pick most up for 1 or 2 days wages so should you be surprised that as it is 1/30 the real price ( hours worked ) that iti is 1/30 the quality ?

Smithsonite

Threads
Here in the states, the cheaper "box store" units are 2-3 weeks pay (average - depends on your line of work. I believe average wage nationwide is $50,000 per year, before tax of course. Varies greatly by state, too). Back in the 80's, it was roughly the same. You got ALOT more for your money going all the way back to the dawn of the industrial revolution. Seems to have taken a turn for the worst in the late 90's, and has taken a nosedive from 2007 onward. Everything today is garbage, whether its a lawn mower, washing machine, blender, toaster, car or truck. Thank God aircraft aren't built by these same standards, or we'd all be running for cover ...

Smithsonite

Threads
Well Stated!