Export thread

Seeking advice on buying my first used JD riding mower for one acre.

Gene123

Gene123

I'm new to the John Deere market. It's becoming difficult for me to use a push mower because of my age. So, I'd like to get a small used JD riding mower --- if I can on a small SS budget. Could you fellows recommend a model for mowing one flat acre? How can I determine the condition of a less expensive, older one? And, how old is too old? Are certain parts prone to wear out that I should be aware of? Are used JD's from the big box stores inferior to those from a JD dealer? I don't know if it's okay for me to consider them both. What price range will I find them in? I can do minor repair, but I suppose parts are expensive. Your advice will provide a good start. Thanks, fellows. :smile:

M

mullins87

You've got a wide open field in front of you with a lot of options to choose from, so I don't know if I can help you very much. You referred to the big box JD's being the same as the dealer models. I have a JD LA175, it is the exact same mower my local JD dealer sold. I'm pretty sure those older JD's like the Sabre were never sold at a dealership, but the L1XX series, the LA1XX series and current D1XX series are dealership models. To the best of my knowledge, the price is the same whether at the box store or the dealer.

If time is not a factor and money is, and you are okay with having to do a few repairs here and there, I'd try to find a 42" mower in either the L series (not sure of the model number) or a LA120. You should be able to find one in the $500-$800 range, maybe less. For example, a coworker of mine has a fairly new LA120 in near showroom condition that he is considering selling to buy a larger mower. He is asking $800 for it. Good luck.

B

bollingball