Preventative maintenance

reynoldston

Lawn Pro
Threads
I have been a mechanic all my life and have replaced a lot of switches in that time. When it comes to wires and switches I don't care how good you are they will never go back the way the factory had them the first time. For one thing every time you remove a wire connector from a switch it loosens all the wire ends. Now what is going to last the longest the old switch or the new one? Yes switches do go bad but most last a lift time. Now as far as the spindle bearing go a maybe a yes go for it. lap bar shocks is nothing that would stop you from using the mower but go for it.

jmurray01

, , 1,000 Post Club
Threads
I have been a mechanic all my life and have replaced a lot of switches in that time. When it comes to wires and switches I don't care how good you are they will never go back the way the factory had them the first time. For one thing every time you remove a wire connector from a switch it loosens all the wire ends. Now what is going to last the longest the old switch or the new one? Yes switches do go bad but most last a lift time. Now as far as the spindle bearing go a maybe a yes go for it. lap bar shocks is nothing that would stop you from using the mower but go for it.
I did think messing around with electrical switches when not necessary would cause some long term issues.

possum

Threads