Newbie here with a lawn mower problem

kaplang

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hello all,

I'm new to this forum and need some help with a current project. Hopefully I can get some answers and i will definitely help others when I can

Honda TB130XP mower won't start and has no spark. It's not the plug so i'm starting with the coil. What i would like to know is what is the testing procedure for the coil? I know it is Ohm readings between some points on the coll but i don't know what the test points are and what Ohm readings I should get?. I have a Fluke VOM and know how to use it. Any help here will be greatly appreciate!

Thanks,

George
West Cost shut in during the pendemic

tom3

Lawn Addict
Threads
Only two components in the ignition, plug and coil. Good plug and no spark, bad coil. Might check the flywheel magnets for strength but that's probably not the problem. Not sure what motor you have but parts are too cheap to worry about it, such as this:

kaplang

Forum Newbie
Threads
Only two components in the ignition, plug and coil. Good plug and no spark, bad coil. Might check the flywheel magnets for strength but that's probably not the problem. Not sure what motor you have but parts are too cheap to worry about it, such as this:

No points or condenser?

dougand3

Threads
You can test 1* and 2* resistance with an ohmmeter but even if in specs, coil can still be bad. Check youtube for how-to.
If I ground the plug, have a buddy pull rope and I don't get spark...I may test FW magnets (but never seen bad ones). Normally, just get another coil.

kaplang

Forum Newbie
Threads
You can test 1* and 2* resistance with an ohmmeter but even if in specs, coil can still be bad. Check youtube for how-to.
If I ground the plug, have a buddy pull rope and I don't get spark...I may test FW magnets (but never seen bad ones). Normally, just get another coil.