Export thread

Need Some Help, Please.

J

JonnyBlaze

I just picked up a Toro Timecutter 1742Z. Model 74350. Has the Kohler Courage SV540 18hp.

Has very faint spark if any. I noticed someone has messed with the wiring and there is a black wire coming off the main engine plug just hanging freely. No idea where it goes.

I swapped out a different coil and spark plug. No difference. I also swapped out the module bolted on the back of the motor. No difference.

Any suggestions would be great.

Attachments

M

mechanic mark

https://www.toro.com/getpub/24597

see troubleshooting wiring schematic page 37

J

JonnyBlaze

https://www.toro.com/getpub/24597

see troubleshooting wiring schematic page 37
I saw that. I'm not good with schematics. Where does it show the connector for the engine harness? This is what confuses me. See pic. The wires are different colors on each end of the connector.

Attachments

tom3

tom3

Looks like someone has replaced some wiring or that connector at some point, see the crimp connectors. Does that black wire connect to anything on the other side of the plug in connector? Maybe a four wire connector used in the three wire circuit.

J

JonnyBlaze

Looks like someone has replaced some wiring or that connector at some point, see the crimp connectors. Does that black wire connect to anything on the other side of the plug in connector? Maybe a four wire connector used in the three wire circuit.
I don't see anything on the other side of the plug.

B

bertsmobile1

I don't see anything on the other side of the plug.

Yes, quite right.
Looks like some one has done an engine swap at some point in time and the new engine had a different plug to the old so they cut it off & joined the wired.
Best guess is the 4 wire plug wasoff a mower that h=used AC headlights.

Next, the magneto is self powering and has nothing to do with the wiring apart from turning it on or off by grounding the kill wire.