MTD Lawnflite 555 Clutch Pedal Juddering

brianj42

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hi All

Newbie here so go gently.

I have a rather old (by today's standards) Lawnflite 555 ride on. As soon as I got it I had to service, oil and grease and sharpened the blades. He was desperately in need of TLC. So, it is now cutting like it should and as we have 2 acres to cut every 2 weeks he is going to be busy.

Yesterday whilst reaching the end of the cut, the clutch (If thats the right description) pedal started juddering. Upon checking it also does it in reverse, and when I look down at the belts and pulleys, the whole lot are waggling about like a dogs tail.

Prior to this the drive belt from the engine to the axle became so loose it was slipping off at the engine pulley.

The blade belt and system are fine, its only the drive side of things.

Are the two problems connected ? What could the overall problem be ?

Thanks In advance.

Brian

bakerg

Lawn Addict
Threads
Your drive belt could be worn out, check and see if the belt has any chunks of belt missing.

brianj42

Forum Newbie
Threads
Well Bakerg it seems you may be spot on. The belt from the engine pulley to the centre pulley, whatever its called, is no longer V shaped as there are large pieces worn down. The pieces missing have gone from the priginal 1cm thick belt to about 5mm. You think this would cause the whole "Shakin Stevens" thing ?

bakerg

Lawn Addict
Threads
Well Bakerg it seems you may be spot on. The belt from the engine pulley to the centre pulley, whatever its called, is no longer V shaped as there are large pieces worn down. The pieces missing have gone from the priginal 1cm thick belt to about 5mm. You think this would cause the whole "Shakin Stevens" thing ?
Yes, your clutch pedal is connected t the variabe speed pulley and with the belt moving through the pulley with the pieces of belt missing that would cause the pully to open and closes, causing the pedal to shake, rattle and roll.:laughing:

brianj42