I really need some help...

wolverinete

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hi guys...first time poster...I'm a carpenter not a small engine rebuilder. bought a troy bilt 21" push mower in may at lowes...i really like it. last week, i decided to throw some oil in it...it had been a few months so i figured it could use it. i grabbed a jar of old 4 cycle oil that i had laying around and tossed in a bit. since then, it won't start...well...it will turn over...go put put put...if i lean it up in the air (spark plug up) it will run a little better...but something drastically wrong has occurred. i tipped it on it's side to drain the oil...i also removed what i thought was the oil drain bolt...but nothing came out...i then added probably 16-20 ounces of new oil...checked the spark plug...it's ok...and the air filter looks brand new. my only thinking is this "bad oil" somehow clogged things up? i keep starting it and try to let it run, but again...it just sputters...like it's not getting enough air...i have NO idea...went to lowes twice...where i bought it...and they would not exchange it. said i had to send to troy bilt for repair which will take a few weeks...i'm ok with that, but apparently they will charge me $85 diagnosis minimum. just planted grass 2 weeks ago and am getting frustrated...i don't know what to do. i will call troy bilt on monday to see what they can do...any thoughts? is there some way for me to completely disassemble the engine? i think it's a 6.75......maybe a tad smaller...i can figure out anything so i don't mind giving it a try...i have a feeling some bad oil is just mucking up some parts...but i don't know. any thoughts?

jakesmurray

Threads
Here's what I would do: