Husqvarna YTA18542 Will Crank But Not Start

rfcnow

Forum Newbie
Threads
I have a Husqvarna riding mower that won't start. The engine cranks but will not start. I charged the battery, replaced the spark plug, replaced the air filter, and drained the gas tank and replaced with new fuel. I tried starting fluid in the air intake and it will start for a few seconds and then quit. Should I clean the carburetor? Is there anything else I should check? I'm not an expert so I'm hoping someone can provide some guidance.
  • Motor/engine manufacturer
    Briggs & Stratton
  • Power output
    18.5 hp
  • Transmission type
    Hydrostatic
  • Cutting width
    42 in

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Yes ,
However a few things need to be checked first.
Remove the solenoid from the bottom of the carb ( thin 1/2" wrench )
If it has 2 wires turn the key on & off.
It should retract quickly every time you urn the key off
If it has 1 wire, ground it to the engine somewhere and do as above

Let us know what you find.

You will find a good photo guide to cleaning your carb at outdoor power Equipment site .

rfcnow

Forum Newbie
Threads
So I removed the solenoid from the carb. It has 2 wires. I turned the key on and off and the solenoid is not retracting at all so I'm assuming this is the problem.

I'm having a hard time finding the right part. I have a Briggs and Stratton Model: 33R777 0003 G1 - Code 161010ZD

Jacks Small Engines list the part as 846639 which looks like the one I took off.

Are they pretty reliable as far as listing the correct parts? Any other suggestions to look it up? The other part lookup places seemed to have a different older Solenoid model.

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Can you push the plunger in by hand ?
If so then some carb cleaner on the plunger , let it soak a bit then some more .
Start moving the plunger in & out with more carb cleaner.