Honda GCV 190 rings

riseandrun

Threads
Thanks for the sealant info.
Here's a picture of the cylinder:

cylinder.jpg

And here are my end gap measurements: Starting at the top and going down into cylinder

1- .015, .014, .013

2. .021,.022

oil ring in the middle of the cylinder- .014
I don't have a service manual so I don't know how those numbers sound..
I was a carpenter. We didn't deal in these tolerances :)
Thanks!

riseandrun

Threads
Thanks again to all who have responded.
Scrubcadet10 you are a busy guy responding to numerous posts, as well as several others on here. You guys restore my faith in this country....Appreciate the picture. My interpretation is my rings are worn to the point of being out of tolerance. Now I have to ask should I also hone the cylinder? I'm going to you tube the search, and I'm pretty sure I can probably borrow a hone from a parts store, I might even have one in my tool box somewhere. Whether of not it will work for my cylinder, I'll post a picture. It seems like the logical thing to do.
At the same time I'm searching for honing I think I will also check out valve guide replacement. Insurance?
Thanks again everybody.
I'm off looking for rings for a: GJAAA1652169 MY9 engine.
KW

Scrubcadet10

Staff member
Threads

tadawson

Threads
Rings don't sound too bad, and cylinder wear is likely not bad either, since the end gap only appears tonchange .002" (as per your notes) going down the bore. Since diameter is 2piR (or piD), that makes diameter variance less than 1/1000" top to bottom, and assuming that your lowest measurement was at the absolute, unworn bottom of the cylinder, then my 'scientific back-in' to wear should hold. Note in the manual ****, it says that service specs for rings are more like 1mm, which you are nowhere near. Neither was my GXV140, but it smoked like mad . . . and a re-ring too it to perfect.