Craftsman lt100 19.5 Briggs

metalslayer

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hi all noob here----end of last yr front axle cracked--finished the yr w/ a borrowed push mower(not easy w/ 1 acre--lol). Fixed front end and motor won't run right.Full power after cold start--then I have to keep increasing choke as time goes by--till the motor will be severely underpowered---was better after choke cleaner(carb still attached)---replaced plugs---oil looks a lil thin----thanx in advance---Bill

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Sounds like you have a fuel delivery problem. Check for parcialy plugged fuel lines, fuel filter, tank or gas cap. The first thing I would check is the gas cap. When the problem occurs loosen the cap. If the vent is plugged it will not allow fuel to flow, but creat a vacuum in the tank.

metalslayer

Forum Newbie
Threads
Had already replaced fuel filter and tried the gas cap thing----going to look into it some more in the am---saw somewhere that something in the carb might be sticking open---but mine is 12 years old and I don't see where any wires are attached to the carb.

GentlemanFahmah

Threads
Sounds like a gummed up carburetor is restricting, then flooding fuel delivery.

New fuel formulas (E85, etc) are horrid and wreak havoc on small and vintage engines. Likely have shellac in carburetor bowl which is plugging and sticking needle, seat, and float. Get a can of carb cleaner and remove and disassemble carburetor and clean the needle and seat thoroughly.