2 more questions about the Husqvarna LGT2654

Douglasdzaster

Threads
I’ve been cleaning up the mower after it sat outside for a couple of years as some of you know. I appreciate all the help by the way. It has a Kohler KT746. The fuel line doesn’t look to bad but I’m replacing it anyway just haven’t got that far. The mower starts and runs but when I engage the blades and put a load on it it runs rough and I have to pull the choke lever just a little to keep it going. I have the new fuel hose but there’s another hose that runs next to the fuel hose. Looks like vacuum hose. Goes from the carb. Back to the top of the fuel tank. What is this hose called exactly and it’s function? I can’t find it on a parts look up. And it does look bad. Weathered and cracked. Is it just a vent hose? Will it affect the way the engine is running?
After I replace everything if it’s still not right I was going to pull the carburetor and clean it or do y’all think I should go ahead and clean it? I hate pulling the carburetors on these. I don’t know why I remove and clean all three carburetors on my outboard no problem. Just haven’t done many of these and it’s been a long time since I’ve worked on a big Kohler. Things change and my old rear end don’t keep up.
I appreciate everyone’s help during this adventure.

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Mower engines run on the idle jet until you engage the blades or start driving up a hill
That is why the engine speeds are called "low Idle " & "high idle"
So you have a problem with the main jet or the fuel supply to the float bowl.

The tube you are asking about is the tank vent.
EPA regulations now require the tanks to be closed to the atmosphere so no fuel vapour can escape which of course will cause all life on the planet to end.
The stupidity of this is these systems failing cause more fuel to be spilled than what would evaporate out of a tank by a factor of probably around a thousand if not more .