Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    2
    Location
    Australia
    Mower
    I Don't Own a Mower :(

    MS3616 bar mount studs loose.

    Mine are loose, because I think the nuts have been tightened up too much.

    this saw has a plastic housing, into which the studs disappear. I cant tell how or what they are embedded into, but I can see there are splines on them. I hammered them back in, but they just came loose again. Also when i hammered them in, one turns with the nut, which kind of suggests it has lost its anchoring in the body.

    IPLs dont even show these studs so i cant see what they screw into exactly.

    you cant tighten the bar properly anymore now, So can this be fixed, or is the saw a throw away now?

  2. #2

    2,500 Post Club

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2,518
    Location
    Washington
    Mower
    Craftsman

    Re: MS3616 bar mount studs loose.

    rundu, I don't know your saw, but there are epoxy (and other?) fillers made for repair of problems like the one you describe. If it would help I will dig out the info. Probably not a good idea to simply try the repair with crazy glue. Sometimes a cleaner/primer is required. What is the diameter of the studs? Also have you considered finding studs the next size up and driving them in? Once in, probably not exceed the torque callout. The short handled bar wrench furnished with my Husky chain saw is purposely short to avoid over torque (it would seem).

    Edit: is that MS... a military spec callout?

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    2
    Location
    Australia
    Mower
    I Don't Own a Mower :(

    Re: MS3616 bar mount studs loose.

    Its pretty well identical to a Poulan Pro (both Husky manufactured saws).

    The diamater is about 3/8". I have read other threads on Stihls/Huskies where they do oversize studs - just dunno if someone has done it with this saw. I suppose i should ring the local dealer

    Unfortunately the manual never specified any torque settings but yes i see know that the wrench is purposely weak so you dont overtighten. but I thought the studs must go into metal. How wrong I was.

Similar Threads

  1. Shroud Studs/Nuts Spinning
    By poorboy in forum Honda Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-29-2015, 11:47 AM
  2. how to replace rear wheel studs on my hustler mower
    By MACE in forum Small Engine & Mower Repair
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-07-2015, 10:47 AM
  3. carburetor studs size.
    By hotrod351 in forum Small Engine & Mower Repair
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-27-2013, 04:04 PM
  4. Front Mount Deck vs Mid Mount ZTR's
    By NoTrespassing in forum Mower & Equipment Buying & Pricing
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-27-2012, 08:31 PM
  5. Loose piston?
    By Schmiedl in forum Small Engine & Mower Repair
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-17-2012, 09:24 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •