engine seized - freed up but now won't start - Toro

mrsmileyns

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hi. I have a Toro personal pace 22" mower - 5 years old. It had been great until I messed up and didn't realize oil was low and the engine seized. I was not able to pull the starter cord at all. I put in about half a quart of oil. I picked up the mower and pushed the blades and was able to get them to move easily and now the cord will pull. So I assume the piston is freed up. But now it won't start.

I am trying to determine if it is worth it to try and get this working. I don't want to invest any money and then have it die as a new one is only about $350. I am trying to check for spark but I can't see the spark plug while I pull the cord.

Any help on deciding what I can do or if it is worth it to do expend any effort or money would be appreciated. The fact that the piston seemed to free so easily is what is making me think the problem was not as bad as I had thought...but I am far from an expert here.

Thanks,

Neil

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Take the spark plug out and pull the engine over about a dozen times. Put the plug back in. Remove and inspect the air filter. You may have tipped the mower the wrong way when you freed up the engine and now have oil in the carb and cylinder. Also, loosen the nut on bottom of the carb to see if there is oil in the bowl. Do not remove, just loosen until you have fresh gas on your hand. After doing all this try starting again.

mrsmileyns

Forum Newbie
Threads
Take the spark plug out and pull the engine over about a dozen times. Put the plug back in. Remove and inspect the air filter. You may have tipped the mower the wrong way when you freed up the engine and now have oil in the carb and cylinder. Also, loosen the nut on bottom of the carb to see if there is oil in the bowl. Do not remove, just loosen until you have fresh gas on your hand. After doing all this try starting again.