Model 28 Vertical - No Compression

Humbug

Threads
Hi All,

I was using my Etesia Bahia Mower today when there was a loud bang from the engine (I think, I had my ear defenders on) and it quit running. I tried the starter but it sounded like there was no ignition and the engine was turning over much more easily than normal. I pulled the spark plug and screwed in my compression tester, when I turned it over the compression was zero.

The engine is a B&S 28M707-1187-E1, vertical 4 stroke, 13HP Diamond I/C.

Could the complete lack of compression be caused by a blown head gasket or is it possibly something more serious? I can't see any oil leaking from it which makes me think that perhaps it isn't the gasket but I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to engine repair. That said, I'm not afraid to get stuck in and get my hands dirty.

Thanks in advance for any advice,
Paul.

StarTech

Lawn Royalty
Top Poster Of Month
Threads
Could be as simple as the valve clearance have gone to zero with old L-head engine. Or worst a broken connecting rod. Remove the spark plug and check for piston movement.

Bertrrr

Threads
Stick a small rod in the spark plug hole and roll it slowly and make sure the piston is moving up and down , if you threw a rod it will not be moving and if that's the case you needn't worry about a rebuild , just replace the engine or mower itself

Humbug

Threads