Why Does Electric Lift Still Have a Lift Handle?

beatleswmc01

Forum Newbie
Threads
I’m working on my grandmother’s Craftsman Professional from 2008 model number 917.288740. It’ll be a great mower again when all the things get fixed on it (deck doesn’t lift, actuator needs repair or replacement but it still doesn’t lift when you can get it to run doing the hammer trick — the lift shaft assembly holes are both wallowed out and I think that’s part of the issue. At the least it makes things sloppy and causes unnecessary deck leveling issues for a part that’s only like $20 used. Wish they could have used some sort a bushing from the factory but I’m not an engineer to know what’s best and if a bushing would impede operation).

It has an electric lift from factory, why do y’all think it still has that “lift handle” that sticks out like a manual lift does? Is it so that the mower is modular, as to say they only have to make one body “fender” assembly instead of making one without the cutout? I know it’s probably a mechanical way to show how high the deck is lifted as well, that’s the most important reason for the end user.

I just joined the site last night because I didn’t find a good small engine repair subreddit. Loving it here so far 😁

Last edited:

mechanic mark

Lawn Pro
Threads
Post Model #'s from under seat, thanks, Mark
Click above, is part worn out? If you purchase above part grease everything that moves.

Last edited:

beatleswmc01

Forum Newbie
Threads
Post Model #'s from under seat, thanks, Mark
Click above, is part worn out? If you purchase above part grease everything that moves.