What's your worst weather experience?

adan

Threads
Typhoon Megi (referred to in the Philippines as 'Juan') just passed by in my part of the world. Though I was way down south, I also understand that it was the strongest since 2007. Last year, Metro Manila was hit by typhoon Ketsana (referred to as 'Ondoy' here). I thought it was the strongest. Entire subdivisions submerged up to the second storeys. But I got all these info only from the news.

We don't have those kinds of typhoons and floods in the southern-most island of the country (Mindanao). So my most nightmarish experience happened when i was a student in Laguna (60km south of Manila). The eye of the typhoon passed through the center of the campus. A large and old tree was uprooted. It was that strong. While the typhoon was raging, I was praying a lot. When the typhoon passed, the whole campus was impassable for hours. Trunks of fallen trees were all around, blocking all roads.

I wonder how it is in other parts of the world. How does a hurricane really look and feel? I see them only in American movies.

rmancini

Threads
I remember well, just how powerful a typhoon can be.
I was aboard ship in Subic Bay (Luzon) in 1971. A typhoon was heading for the island so we got underway along with 6 or 7 other ships in our battle group.
We didn't quite make it in time as the storm caught us and tore the catwalks from both sides of the flight deck. Thats quite a bit of iron!!
Luzon didn't fare much better - drowned livestock on the roads and such almost as far as Angeles City.
Transportation was non-existant since the roads were either blocked or washed away.
The ship repair facility at Subic couldn't make the repairs due to storm damage so we ended up at the Sembawang Shipyard in Singapore.
It was quite an experience!:eek:

173abn

Threads