Whats wrong with my mower? Help please!

Coca Kohler

Threads
I have a 10hp briggs with codes: Model 254707 Type 0140-01 Code 9303110
About 2/3 months ago I bought it as a complete wreck if a mower and I spent my spare time repairing it. It had a lot fuel in the oil so I replaced the it. I cleaned the carb out, reset plug gap and flywheel and coil gap. I found it needed a head gasket so I replaced that also.

But now the mower seems to have lost all compression except when it gets to one point in the engine cycle. It runs ok but I've noticed a bit of a power loss. Today I took the flywheel housing of earlier and noticed that the head gasket looks warped and I took the plug out but it seems ok to me but I'm not an expert yet haha I'm only 16. When I replaced the head gasket I checked the cylinder and valves and they were fine. It had one deep scratch in the cylinder but my dad (who's a truck mechanic) said that it looks like its been there a while. I torqued the head to the correct setting using a torque wrench and in the correct pattern. The breather hose goes into the air filter and it has a bit of oil at the bottom of the filter housing from the tube. I was thinking tht maybe the oil had gone through the carb and into the engine and maybe the oil caused the gasket to go bad???

Earlier i also retorqued the head and it was all exactly how I done it originally. But why would it lose compression and power? When I checked the cylinder i spun the engine over by hand and there were lines of oil left in the cylinder in some places but could that be bad piston rings???

Sorry about the essay but I hope it will help those of you who can help me. Ill add a few photos of what I found today and what I found a few months back when I changed the head gasket.

Attachments

• image-2190610891.jpg
    image-2190610891.jpg
    551.1 KB · Views: 17
  • image-1639412814.jpg
    image-1639412814.jpg
    476.1 KB · Views: 13
  • image-2744369057.jpg
    image-2744369057.jpg