What's the neatest tool you've found?

grumpygrizzly

Threads
I'm new to trying my hand at small engine repair and I'm always lookin for multi-purpose tools.

I stopped at a hardware store that had the Arnold Multi-Tool the previous visit I was there but, they were all gone and they said they're not available any longer. So, I picked up an Oregon Top Saw tool for working on chainsaws and other small engines.

I then went home and jumped onto EBay and picked up two of the Arnold tools for under $15-18 shipped.

After using the TopSaw tool a couple of times, it frustrated me how cheaply it was built and is now in the bottom of my tool box. One of the main problems was being able to switch between the two sizes of sockets on that wrench. You have to take a screw out, flip the socket around and fit the screw back in the tool to hold it in place. Well, there are also 4 washers you have to line up to put in between the tool sides and the socket. Good luck with that..

The Arnold Multi-Tool has a bit of a different layout. It has two sockets but, also has two more sockets that sit inside the larger sockets.. They stick out a little past the end of the larger sockets but, when you go to use one, if the inner socket is too small, it pushes into the larger socket and allows you to use it instead. Basically, you have 4 deeo well sockets in the space of two sockets. The inner sockets are also spring loaded and once you're done using the larger socket, the smaller one comes back out. Genius, pure genius..

The other bits are the same as the the TopSaw tool except they don't have the chain tool (Which I haven't begun to figure out how to use) but, instead, they have a tapered spark plug gapper, like a blade with increasing thickness.