Welding

reynoldston

Lawn Pro
Threads
I have mower decks that come into my shop with either broken or rusted off brackets. I have a stick welder but find its just too hot to weld the thin metal that the decks are made of. I find that my best luck is to braze them back on with a gas torch. I have been looking at the electric gasless MIG welders on eBay and thinking of buying one for this job. Has anybody used one of these welders and if so how well do they work on the thin metal that the mower decks are made of ? Seeing I have never used one I do think it will take some practice if I do buy one.

ILENGINE

Lawn Royalty
Threads
I have been using a Hobart 140 for several years, and seems to do a good job of welding thin material. The thing with mower decks is they can get thin spots which can still burn through even on the lowest settings, I have had to switch over to Mig, .024 wire with shielding gas on some jobs. The other problem with mower decks is the rust, You need clean metal to get good welds. Sometimes my welds will look sloppy because you can't maintain a stable arc, but seem to work OK after you clean them up with a grinder.

primerbulb120

Threads
I have mower decks that come into my shop with either broken or rusted off brackets. I have a stick welder but find its just too hot to weld the thin metal that the decks are made of. I find that my best luck is to braze them back on with a gas torch. I have been looking at the electric gasless MIG welders on eBay and thinking of buying one for this job. Has anybody used one of these welders and if so how well do they work on the thin metal that the mower decks are made of ? Seeing I have never used one I do think it will take some practice if I do buy one.

Bert was just talking about this: http://www.lawnmowerforum.com/showthread.php/39996-MTD-Yardman-Transaxle-Rebuild/page7

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads