Tecumseh Power Sport

mjatvrepair

Forum Newbie
Threads
Sorry I didn't mean to make you mad at me. I just thought you would recheck your self. I can go over it with you if you want.. I did this for a living all so and never liked someone telling what to do. Timing isn't much to check just make sure the key is good in the flywheel and Air gap. Does this engine have points and if so that will change your timing if the gap is off. You said compression was good and you did check the plug in the engine under compress witha a spark tester. I check fuel with starting fluid in carb. Sorry about that misunderstanding. :frown:

I understand I dont like people telling me what to do either when I know what I am talking about but I was asking for help on this forum and giving help and telling someone what to do are two different things, I accept your appologys and I am sorry as well that I took it the wrong way. The flywheel key is good the old one was sheared just a tad bit so I replaced it as well. It doesnt give any kick back like a bad flywheel key would do when you pull the cord. No there are no points in this engine. I just set the gap on the valves and thought that would be it. I did not however check for a spark with the plug in the engine, the compression is about 113 psi does that sound about right? I will check the plug in the engine tomorrow and let you know what I find out. Again I appologize, thanks for you help

Matt

originalswampfox

Threads
Mat,

No apology necessary, I keep thinking we are missing something. Going back to the beginning when you first got the engine it had a bent push rod. We think the mixed gas caused it. When the rod got bent the valve was probably hit by the piston. The flywheel key was partially sheered. So much for all that bs, to check to make sure everything is in time
1. Take out the plug.
2 roll the engine over by hand until both valves are closed.
3. magnets on the flywheel should be lined up with the coil.