RSD Broke at 57 hours....

577jersey

Threads
First problem I had with my mower happened today...in the middle of a lawn the main tensioner spring for the deck belt broke,,belt came off and got cut bad.
I had to rig up an old spring I had to finish the job.

Hope Hustler gives me a new belt and spring tomorrow.

I would grab and extra spring and the two clips it attaches too if I was a Hustler operator,,this way you wont be stranded dead on a lawn.

I plan on keeping an extra spring,belt and two clips on me at all times from now on.

Cheap Chinese swiss cheese metal spring....maybe I can find a better upgrade one day.

I knew I didnt like the looks of the tensioner system on this deck..

Tom

kraky

Threads
Over the years I've seen some pretty funky idler and spring designs work flawlessly for many hours. I have also seen some pretty simple ones have problems. I've got to say 57 hours seems like a disappointment... it probably all comes down to the quality of the Steel and how much it cost. Doubtful that Hustler makes its own Springs it seems like testing has come up a hair short.

577jersey

Threads
Over the years I've seen some pretty funky idler and spring designs work flawlessly for many hours. I have also seen some pretty simple ones have problems. I've got to say 57 hours seems like a disappointment... it probably all comes down to the quality of the Steel and how much it cost. Doubtful that Hustler makes its own Springs it seems like testing has come up a hair short.
Thats the truth!! Im sure the spring is from over seas...well they gave me a new belt and spring no questions asked,,he said ONE other guy came in with the same problem,,I bet it was more than one out of over 400 machines sold...lol..wonder if anybody else had this problem yet on the forum??
Anyway,,Hustler came through for me and Im back in business. Amen

kraky

Threads