Repairing lawn equipement for a living

afoulk

Threads
I guess this one is geared towards those of you that work in a lawn equipement shop or dealer. I've been thinking about this for a long time and always thought that there wasn't much money to be made in it if you didn't want to own your own shop. So, is it possible to make a descent living working for a dealer or general repair shop? I am currently a diesel mechanic at a Mack truck dealership, have been for the past 12years. I'm at a point in my life where I'm starting to feel the aches and pains associated with working on large equipment, not to mention the dirt and grease built up on a truck with 500,000miles or more on it gets old, plus, I just feel its time for a change. I'm married, with two kids, and a house, so starting over career wise is kinda scary. Anyways, I messed around with mowers and such back in highschool, but not much, and havn't really messed with it much since then. I've always loved this stuff, just havn't had the time or money to mess with it outside of work. If a descent living can be made working on this stuff, would my background as a diesel mechanic help me get a job, or do I need to have some sort of training or experience to get a job working on lawn equipement? As far as training goes, all i've had is a small gas engines class back in high school, about 16yrs ago. I appreciate any help or advise you guys can give me.

ILENGINE

Lawn Royalty
Threads