questions on boring a cylinder

jetrail

Threads
Hi ,
im new to the forum . I have a question what is the bestethod to bore a briggs engine? I have been working on small engines for over 15 years but have never learned to bore a cylinder and i am curious and would like to learn more about it . I have a briggs motor ive honed replaced the rings ect and put it all back together and it has low compression 40 lbs. I will have to bore it to use bigger rings right ? What is the best way to bore a small engine Thanks
John

KennyV

Lawn Pro
Threads
John, 40 pounds is Low... are you sure you are not having valve problems?
Was there any ridge that may have cracked the new top ring... I would look closer at things before I packed it off to a shop with the proper tooling... What B&S engine is it? :smile:KennyV

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Personally I would not try to bore the engine myself unless I have a boring machine. I agree with Kenny that you should check the valves and rings first.

fastback

Threads
Yes I agree, I also would check the valves first.

I'm no expert, but I think if you bore the cylinder you will need to replace pistion to the proper size. If you are able to get away with just honing then you can probably get away with a little larger set of rings. Before this happens you really need to inspect the cylinder for imperfections an maybe so some measurement with a snap gauge and micrometer.

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads