no compression on Craftsman Mulcher, Briggs & Stratton flat head lawnmower.

ggrigo33

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / no compression on Craftsman Mulcher, Briggs & Stratton flat head lawnmower.
Hey guys, I am not experienced at fixing small engines, in fact I bought this lawnmower which is about 12 years old just to play around with.

It was working before I got to it, now... not so much now...So here is the issue. I completely disassembled it to clean off carbon, change piston rings and gaskets. I watched enough videos on youtube to learn about how to disassemble and reassemble it. So after I cleaned it off and reassemble it I couldn't get to start. I ruled other possible problems, so the only thing that is wrong with it is no compression. I connected my compressor through the spark-plug to test where is the airleak and it turned out that the exhaust valve does not hold the seal, so as the piston rings. So I took the piston out to make sure that the rings are placed in a correct order and in a correct way and I made sure that ring openings are evenly spaced apart. The exhaust valve is the original valve I just cleaned it off carbon.

I am not sure what went wrong and why there is now compression. Is it because I used carburetor dip to clean off valves and rest of the engine from the carbon build up? Please help.

ThaxtexGM

Threads
Did you reseat the valves?
Or are the valves right, have you got the in let in the out let??
So ease to do this :(

Last edited:

Michael72

Threads
Ok....first thing i would do is have a look at your valves...turn over so piston is top dead center and rotate flywheel 1/4" and not 1/4 turn...(both valves now closed)...at this point if you can turn valve easily or they they are noticeably loose then they need attention...exhaust vale not seated correctly will cause no compression check online for your valve clearance specs and adjust..