Murry Transxale Problem

Harold2689

Threads
I recently came into possession of an old Murry Model 46570X8A lawn tractor. It has a 46" cutting deck, and it has seen better days.
I'm trying to get the old lady back up and working again...
Murry-Tractor.jpg

Tractor-Numbers.jpg

It's old, and appears to have been "rode hard and put away wet.
When I removed the deck, it, and the underside of the tractor looked like this
Deck-Received.jpg
There was mud, and dried grass everywhere. That bearing was all that was left of the idler pulley that is supposed to be there.
I took the deck completely apart, wire brushed everything, painted & reassembled. Now it looks like this:
Deck-now.jpg
It's powered by a Briggs 18.5 hp twin cylinder engine:
Engine-Label.jpg
It runs great, but there is a starter problem that I can handle.

The remaining problem is the transaxle. I have no experience or knowledge about them at all. I assume it's a
Peerless, but I cannot locate any labels or barcodes anywhere on it. Judging by the dirt and mud under the whole tractor,
it may have fallen off years ago.
Transmission-Number.jpg
This is the only marking I can find on the transaxle.

Here's what I've done so far. I hosed the entire unit with a high pressure nozzle on my garden hose. Nowhere near 3,000psi
from a pressure washer, just 60 psi max, but with a "pressure" nozzle. I got most of the mud and junk removed, and found 1
of the three idler pulleys under the tractor locked up solid. I did not mention that the first time I started this mower up, it did move under its own power,
but very slow, and it whined quite loudly. After replacing the idler pulley it didn't whine quite as loudly, but still way more than i thought it should.
The belt is in very good shape, but I think it was not installed correctly. It is my understanding that on this mower, the steering shaft runs through