K301 Backfires and more

Threads
Hi all, I have a K301 12hp that I bought 4 years. The guy I got it from said it was a shortblock from Kohler. It ran great for 3 years until it threw a rod. I took it apart and found that when the conecting rod broke it also broke off one of the wieghts on the cam. I found a used cam with the exact numbers on it and I got a used crank and connecting rod. I put it back together and it started right up but backfires when going from full throttle to idle. I put a new carb on but no change. I also noticed now at full throttle it looks like a steady flame comming out of the muffler. This is my first time working on a small engine. I do have the manual for K series engines. Do I have somethine wrong?
Robert

Threads
Yes, I think the timing is correct because it will start on the first pull of the rope. The cam has the exact numbers on it as the damaged one. I could not find any numbers on my damaged crank. The replacement crank looked the same accept mine has a nut to secure the flywheel and the replacement has a bolt. It backfired with two different carbs so I thought that would rule out that. Am I wrong in my assumptions? The muffler is something I had laying around, it is 6" and is just straight through, could that cause these problems? I do not think you are a smart_____.
Robert

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads